Family Details

Elena

= A Family-Match Certified Family

Hi! I am excited to meet with you and help provide a loving home for kids that need the protection and support of a forever family! Thank you so much for the work you do and for taking the time to consider me and my profile for these children you are supporting.

My family is kind and very supportive.  My daddy is a gentle teddy bear and will get on the floor and play dolls or race cars and is secretly hoping for a little fishing buddy or two. He used to dress up as Santa when my sister and I were young and he is looking forward to doing the same for the next generation. My mom just retired and she loves to shop and take care of their cats. She just can't wait until we know gender and ages for my children to start shopping for them. My sister and her husband also live about 15 minutes away. They have one daughter (best niece EVER!) Our parents help daily with childcare for her and they will be available to support my new family as well. We also have aunts, grandparents and lots of cousins living in town. They are ready to embrace the newest members of my family.

Also, I want to note that I am partially adopted. My birth-mother passed away at a young age and had been estranged from her family. Technically my mom that raised me is my step-mother. It is from my birth-mother's family that I trace my Cherokee heritage. As a teen I began to have a longing to know more and more about my family of origin. I appreciated the support and wisdom of my dad and mom ("step") as they gave me a safe, firm foundation to do my research. I believe this experience will help me relate to the children I am adopting in their own quest for identity.

I have friends that love me like family. My best guy friend is a single dad and I have been honored to be asked to be god-mother to his 2 kiddos.  My closest friend is a single mom who will have lots and lots of advice for me. Along with my church family, they make up a fantastic network of kind and understanding people that will be a great community for my children.

I work as a community association manager which allows me lots of flexibility for scheduling appointments and field trips. I’ve know my boss for 20+ years and I love the family atmosphere of this small firm.

I also run a small charity that helps to support children's homes and literacy programs in India. I lived overseas for about 8 years running one of those children's homes and teaching in the slums. I know how to make children feel valuable and loved. When they need extra attention or a safe place to feel comforted, I am there with a warm smile and hugging arms. I love to find out what kids are interested in and help encourage them to become all they are made to be.

My friends and family describe me as compassionate and loyal. I am the one people turn to when they need a hug or some caring advice. I have a background in psychology. But I’m also the one who challenges people to dare to live their dreams.

I own a three bedroom/three bathroom condo in a very family friendly neighborhood. There are great playgrounds and a community pool for kids to enjoy! I often work out of a home office so I will be able to spend a lot of time with my child. It’s a really great place. I fell in love with it at first sight! The home is very near to my family and dearest friends so grandparents and family can visit often!

I love traveling and "finding" adventures and sightseeing. I hope to instill this love of adventure in my children whether it is overseas or just rediscovering our local sights.

I love to read and have a good collection of children’s story books ready to go!

I also can’t wait to have an excuse to watch all the Disney movies over and over.

I do a lot of volunteer work and love to teach children’s classes of all ages at church.

I like to have trivia nights and host game nights and group dinners often! My home is a gathering place for people to relax and have fun.

Family Picture
Profile Elena
Age: 41
Occupation: Community Association Manager
Hobbies and Interests: travel, reading, teaching, being the best Aunty ever!
Favorite Sports Team: whatever ball team my little sister is currently coaching
Favorite Place to Vacation: European Cruise last year with my extended family.
As a Family
State of Residence: Florida
Religious Affiliation: Christian
Eligible to Adopt:  
Age Range of Child: 0 - 10 yrs. old
Number of Children: 1 - 4 children
Ethnicity: No Preference
Gender: No Preference
List all trainings you have received in past 2 years: PRIDE (CHS) Adoption "102" (CHS) Adoption Learning Partners: -Let's Talk Adoption -Lifebooks
Send this family a message by filling out this form.
 
 
   
 
 

  • hiking in Mexico
  • literacy program in India
  • game night at my place
  • joking with girls at the orphanage
  • family Thanksgiving
  • family at Christmas
  • rafting in Costa Rica
  • goddaughter's graduation
  • church youth group at my home

Contact us

Mailing list

Sign up if you would like to receive occasional treats from us.

Family-Match Strategic Partner

Selfless Love Foundation

About us

Family-Match connecting families with children since 2014.

Create your free profile today.