Family Details

Christopher and Dawn

A Family-Match Certified Family

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to read about the Mann family. We are currently a family of 7 in the panhandle.

We understand the profile isn’t exclusively about “US” but we wanted to introduce ourselves and give you an idea that we can and are able to provide a loving/nurturing home. We would love to support healthy relationships with family and/or caregivers, so they never forget those who loved them first. We want to encourage their dreams, nurture & guide their individuality, and arm them with the tools to face challenges the next phase of their life will bring; whether it be teen years, college, or transitioning into adulthood. ALL of this with full confidence, knowing there is a strong support team cheering them on.  
Our Why :

It is our desire to step out of our comfort zone and help others; to open our home to children in need of unconditional love and fulfill our Psalms 82:3 calling (“Vindicate the weak and fatherless; Do justice to the afflicted and destitute.”)

Adoption is in our blood!

Dawn
is a Pacific Islander and her mother was adopted as an infant. Her grandparents adopted a total of three children.

Chris' great-grandfather was Native American. As a child his great-grandfather was adopted by his step-father. Chris’s grandfather adopted his step-son as well.   

Both sides of our family are supportive of our desire to open our hearts and home.

Chris is the 3rd oldest from a blended family of 7 children. During his youth his favorite activities were surfing, skateboarding, video games, cartoons, he also played high school football and ran track. He has been self-employed the past 7 years. 
Dawn is the oldest from a blended family of 5 siblings. Her father was in the Air Force and they moved around until his retirement.. She worked as a legal assistant until 2005 when she became a stay at home mom and began homeschooling the boys. 
* Our 24-year-old son is a Certified Marine Mechanic and lives on the east coast of Florida. He's quite athletic, a hard worker, eager to lend a hand to those in need, always full of interesting trivia facts, is ready with a magic trick or a joke and musically talented; enjoying the guitar most. 
* Our 19-year-old was a Jr. Volunteer Firefighter and a leader in Civil Air Patrol.  In May 2018, he completed his EMS education, moved to North Carolina to pursue his career.  He enjoys plays the trumpet, hiking, frisbee golf and football.
* Third oldest is 17 and a Junior. He is a special young man who overcomes obstacles every day,  he is an amazing young man with a quirky sense of humor, has artistic talents, plays the saxophone, enjoys fencing.  He is in Civil Air Patrol and making excellent strides in leadership, ranking and learning how to FLY! This year is his second year in Cotillion and looks forward to the end of year grand ball dance; which includes tuxedos for the young men and formal ball gowns for the young ladies.
* Our only daughter and is looking forward to the possibility of having a  sister -or two. She is 13 years old, very sweet, enjoys her girlie ways but also has a bit of tomboy in her. She loves to sing, laugh, play games, spend time with her brothers. Cotillion has helped her refine her manners and gain confidence to be in any social situation. She also joined Civil Air Patrol and is currently learning to fly. This past summer was filled with a few firsts! She learned how to swim, waterski and fly a plane. 
* The current youngest is 10 years old and in the 4th grade. He is ALL BOY and you’ll find him outside shooting his bow and arrows, riding his bike, or playing with the livestock. When he’s inside he enjoys board games, games on his tablet, and playing with Legos. He plays the piano and is learning to overcome his hesitation to perform in public. He is eager to be a brother (big would be nice but younger would suit him as well).
We enjoy the benefits of country life, with the ocean short drive away. We have a 6-acre hobby farm with cows, goats, chickens, turkeys, dogs, and ducks to name a few. Additionally, we have a garden and the children have their own area garden as well. There are fruit trees, fruit vines, fruit bushes AND we can’t leave out the pool and play-set-activities for all and LOTS of room to run and play.
Our preference would be a sibling group but a single child would be a blessing as well. A match that enjoys the outdoors, traveling, country life with city sophistication but will also open our lives to new experiences. We are a family that enjoys learning new things and helping others.

Lifestyle and interests
Chris - enjoys cooking, rebuilding equipment, playing games with the children, especially NERF tag. 

  Dawn - Reading and researching subjects that involve improvements to our health, education, and farm to name a few. Livestock, organic gardening, refurbishing/upcycling, traveling and teach others about healthier options.

Through the years the boys have experienced horseback riding, fencing, formal dance as well as hip-hop training, watching the local Blue Angels Air Show performances, a variety of sports, running in 5k’s, going to the beach, summer camp, canoeing, whitewater rafting, primitive camp trips (without running water, cooking over a fire, sleeping in tents etc.), hiking, learning about other cultures (Greek Festivals, Native American Pow-Wows) and foreign travel just to name a few.
We are a Christian family learning the deepest meaning of unconditional love, love for neighbor, love for enemies and having a servant’s heart. Summers are spent volunteering at camp supporting and during the remaining of the year, we find other ways to serve our community.  Our family enjoys traveling and exploring natural and man-made areas. At least 4 times a year we travel to visit our parents; grandparents are an important part of our lives. Once a year we take a big family trip; last year we went to Kentucky and had the opportunity to explore The Ark, Creation Museum, Cincinnati and the Corvette Museum in Bowling Green.

Experience with children

Chris has worked with the boys and their Scouts troop during camp-outs and badge events. 
Dawn was a nanny for 3 years after graduating high school and has worked with children through church summer camps and homeschool co-op groups.
The 3 oldest boys have all volunteered during church summer camps and worked directly with children under 12 years old in various activities; such as archery, riflery, photography...etc). This year was our daughter's first year as a teen volunteer.  While our 19-year-old was an adult assistant dorm counselor and the 17-year-old was a lifeguard. They always look forward to a summer full of serving, sun & fun! 

Support network

We have a FANTASTIC network!

Parents (future grandparents) that are extremely active in our children's lives. They are supportive of our family's decision to adopt.
Our church family is also supportive of our adoption journey and eager to meet and build relationships with them. Our pastor is aware and will be a part of our transition counseling. Additional counseling will come from our local agency's professional resources. 
Transition & family counseling is not negotiable...it is a must!

Available resources

* Grandparents
* Families First Network
* Our Pastor
* School counselors 
We are a homeschool family but do not object to public school or tutors if it's in the best interest of the child(ren) to remain in that familiar structure.
* We have friends who have recently adopted and are in the same part of the process as we are. There are local support groups for Foster & Foster/Adopt families.
* Medical - we have advised our local pediatrician, dentist, & orthodontist of our adoption plans and all have expressed excitement of meeting our newest child (children).
* Cultural - that would depend on what their cultural interests are and if there are local groups. IF not, then we would research to find a way to support them. Florida is so diverse that I can't imagine any opportunity being out of reach.

Family Picture
Profile Christopher Dawn
Age: 48 49
Occupation: Self Employed Stay At Home Mom
Hobbies and Interests: Agriculture, Traveling, Cooking, Surfing, Skateboarding, Video game, Outdoor Activities Crafting, Essential oils, Nutrition, Animal Husbandry, Gardening, & Traveling
Favorite Sports Team: FSU FSU
Favorite Place to Vacation: Bahamas Mountains
As a Family
State of Residence: Florida
Religious Affiliation: Christian
Eligible to Adopt:  
Age Range of Child: 0 - 17 yrs. old
Number of Children: 1 - 7 children
Ethnicity: No Preference
Gender: No Preference
List all trainings you have received in past 2 years: * QPT * FAPA meetings * FFN's Welfare In-Service Trauma Training
Send this family a message by filling out this form.
 
 
   
 
 

  • Our fenced in pool
  • Our volunteer Jr. fire fighter
  • Waiting at the finish line of an Inflatable 5k...
Not our 1st and not our last ;)
  • 2018 Cotillion
  • The boys before their end of year recital May 2017
  • Our garden area
  • After a recital performance
  • Two middle boys during a fencing lesson
  • Trip to George Bush's Library
  • Everyone goes zipliningYep - grandparents included
  • Chris & Dawn 
On our way to our 19th Anniversary dinner
  • The whole "gang" on the coldest day Jan 2018
  • Dawn's mom & step father who are cherished and active in the children's lives.
  • Family day at the beach
  • The whole gang supporting our most recent graduate
  • Family Cotillion - before the party started